The Student Support Services Program (SSS) is a federally funded TRIO program that has been funded by the Department of Education (DOE) for more than 30 years. SSS is funded with a yearly itemized budget to serve 175 students at Camp.

Goal: To increase the probability that students will successfully complete their educational goals.

Mission: The mission of SSS is to promote student success by increasing student retention, graduation and transfer rates and fostering a supportive institutional climate. The SSS staff is committed to achieving this mission by providing academic development, assisting students with basic college requirements, and motivating students to successfully complete their postsecondary educational degree. The following grant objectives are critical for student retention and success:

  • Persistence
  • Good Academic Standing
  • Graduation/Transfer
  • Campus Climate

The SSS Staff acts as a liaison between students and the various college offices to ensure that students have access to all appropriate college and community services. There are many obstacles and challenges that can hinder performance in college. The SSS staff helps guide students through successful completion of their course of study by monitoring academic progress and providing the support needed for success.

Participation in SSS is voluntary. Acceptance into the program is based on criteria established by the U.S. Department of Education. Students may refer themselves to this program or be referred by a counselor, instructor, or other staff member. Applications for Student Support Services are available in the SSS office in Franklin and Suffolk.

Counselors:
Gail Vaughan
Director of Student Support Services
gvaughan@pdc.edu
757.569.6725
Franklin 120B

Walter Biggs
Transfer Coordinator
wbiggs@pdc.edu
757.925.6333
Suffolk 112K

Ellis Cofield III
Recruitment and Admissions Specialist
ecofield@pdc.edu
757.925.6303
Suffolk 100 B

Hyler Scott, Ph.D.
Counselor
hscott@pdc.edu
757.925.6308
Suffolk 100L

Evelyn Turner
Administrative Assistant
eturner@pdc.edu
757.569.6758
Franklin 120A

LaRhonda Wynne
Tutor Coordinator
lwynne@pdc.edu
757.569.6730
Franklin 120G